Surf’s (not) Up!

surf

I noticed on Google that today marks the birth date of the legendary surfer, Duke Kahanamoku and it got me thinking about surfing. I’m not a surfer. I’m lucky I can stand up straight on solid ground without falling over. Seriously, it has happened.

But, I know that there was surf in Long Beach way back when (that is a historical era, ya’ know.) I have seen old-timey photos of people surfing here, crowded beaches, a roller coaster at the Pike. Then, I know that the breakwater was built during World War II as a defense against submarines and torpedoes. And that stole the waves from our beaches.

As far as I know, that War ended a while back, and I’m not aware of any more submarines haunting the waters of the California coast. Can we get rid of that breakwater? I know a lot of people feel it is depriving the shore of the natural waves and all of the beneficial properties they bring. I’m not going to get into that. You can Google “Sink the Breakwater” and find many discussions on the pros and cons.

I just can’t help but wonder what BS would be like if it was a surfing town again…

Leave a Reply

