Baked Rigatoni

IMG_4171

Mr. and I usually try to eat relatively healthy. But, sometimes, you just need some good, old fashioned, meaty, saucey, cheesey goodness. Especially on a chilly, rainy Sunday night.

I posted this picture on my personal FB page (yeah, I’m one of those people,) and my friends asked for the recipe. So, I thought I would share it with you, too. I don’t write recipes, so I’m just going to tell you what I did:

Season 1 lb. ground beef and 1 lb. ground hot sausage with garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and a little black pepper. Brown in a skillet. Drain.

Spread a small amount of marinara sauce in the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking pan.

Pour the rest of the sauce (from a 24 oz. jar) into the skillet, and add a can of diced tomatoes (including their juice.) Add dried oregano, garlic powder, and crushed red pepper. Add the meat back to that pan. None of this gets cooked.

Cook 16 oz. rigatoni until al dente (I did about 3-4 minutes less than the directions on the box.) Drain.

Beat two eggs in a large bowl. Add 15oz. ricotta cheese, 2 C. shredded mozzarella, 1/2 C. shredded parmesan, and dried parsley. Stir until well combined. Add in the pasta and combine. Then add in the meat/sauce mixture and combine.

Pour it all into the baking dish, and top with some more shredded mozzarella (I told you this was not healthy!) Bake uncovered in a pre-heated 350 oven for about 30 minutes (longer, if you need to get the cheese browned.) Let rest about 5 minutes before digging into it.

And, in full disclosure, I got my idea from this recipe.

Comfort food, for sure. I hope you like it…

Leave a Reply

