Chill

queen-mary-chill-ice-kingdom-ice-sculptures-castles

I’m not big on cold weather, it’s one of the reasons I live in SoCal. I had enough wintry exploits (both good and bad) growing up. But I feel like you have to experience Chill at the Queen Mary at least once in your life! For me, the highlight is the Ice Kingdom, an indoor ice sculpture installment. When we went a couple of years ago, the theme was The Nutcracker; this year, it’s Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol. A 13,000 square foot winter wonderland filled with expertly carved ice that has been painted and stunningly lit. There’s over two million pounds of ice in there, so yeah, it does get very cold. They have parkas that you can borrow, but we dressed in our own snuggly layers.

They also have Ice Skating and Ice Tubing, Claus Cottage, live entertainment, rides, and much more merriment. Of course there’s food and beverages (including bars!,) and a Vodka Bar with tastings inside the Ice Kingdom. Your Chill ticket also gets you access on the Queen Mary. So when you’re sick of the children you’ve had your fill of coldness, you can wander around the ship.

Chill is open daily through New Year’s weekend, then one more weekend after that. There’s still plenty of time to go. But, I think I’m content sitting on my sofa with my slippers on…

 

Leave a Reply

