Hey, Phil!

Groundhog-Standing2

As a child, my parents had a small garden in the back yard. I remember they grew zucchini, tomatoes, and sunflowers. I’m sure there was more, but that’s not the point. There was a variety of critters who lived in the woods in the back of our house. Naturally, my Dad built a little fence around the garden in an attempt to keep them out. One morning, I heard my dad yelling out the back window at an invited guest that was in our garden. When I looked out the window, I couldn’t stop laughing, making Dad more upset, of course. The fence was just a thin chicken wire type thing. Pretty flimsy. Sitting on top of that fence was this fat, fluffy groundhog chowing down on the fruits of his labors. He somehow managed to climb up the fence and was perched there precariously, completely unfazed at his swaying back and forth, that wobbly fence about to give at any second.

I grew up about 100 miles from Punxsutawney (I didn’t even have to spellcheck that,) and I guess I always thought Groundhog Day was kind of a PA. thing. After I moved away, I realized that furry little guy, Phil, is recognized nationally. And apparently, he’s been around since like the 1800’s.

So Happy Groundhog Day, everyone! In case you didn’t know, Phil predicted an early Spring. Not that it really matters for those of us in SoCal…

Leave a Reply

