Super Snacks

297_1Jerome_Bettis_Food_Spread

Guys, the Super Bowl is almost here! Yes, that is Jerome Bettis, and I am a die-hard Steelers fan. I know they’re not in the Super Bowl this year, but its time to start thinking about your snacks. You know my penchant for grazing. Dip for dinner? Yes, please! And, the Super Bowl is like, well, the Super Bowl for snacks. Ya’ know what I mean?

We all try to eat healthy. I know, I know. But I’m sorry no I’m not I do not “do” healthy for the Super Bowl. Sure, I might sub light cream cheese for regular, or Greek yogurt for sour cream, but that’s about it. There will be no crudités or salads. No fruit. No jicama sticks instead of tortilla chips. Key words are  – in no particular order – cheesy, spicy, crunchy, salty. And hopefully, things that can be mostly prepared in advance. And, absolutely no utensils (that reminds me, I need to buy paper towels.)

So, if you’re like me – and I think you kinda’ might be if you’re reading this – you’re already thinking about what you’re going to nibble on Sunday. I love a jalapeño popper; here’s one wrapped in bacon! Or as a hot dip. Cut out the middle man and just stuff it all into some bread (love that she gives you some other flavor suggestions, too.) Wings are always a winner, but kind of a lot of work. Buffalo chicken dip, however, can be like crack. And how awesome are deviled eggs? Buffalo-ize them! I feel like you could make these meatballs a day ahead, then reheat them, and simply serve them with some marinara sauce. Go Asian with these; again, sauce on the side.

ARGH! I can’t stop! I just realized I have 13 recipes for crab dip in my files (yikes!) Here’s a super easy one; I bet you could stuff this in bread, too. You can’t go wrong with something super cheesy like queso. Or a riff on the classic Reuben or Cheesesteak. Since it’s football, you need something with beer in it. Help! I could go on and on…

 

 

Leave a Reply

