Salute!

IMG_5078

So, I think by now, y’all know I’m not what you would call a “health nut.” I mean, I get the benefits of eating well and getting in regular activity. I try to incorporate that into my life. But, I kinda’ also like the mantra, “everything in moderation.” I mean, I don’t think I’ve ever met a french fry I didn’t like. Cheeseburgers, wings, and adult beverages are some of my buddies, too. I have no problem walking into a new bar; not so much a new juice bar, especially when it is connected to a fitness facility.

Salud Juice has been open on 2nd Street for about a year now (the original location has been open since 2012.) I walk past it on a regular basis, and I finally decided to poke my head in and see what it’s all about. Let me tell you, it was a fabulous first experience! The juicetender (like a bartender but with juice, right?) was so friendly, welcoming, and helpful. She answered all of my questions, asked questions of her own, and gave me a little back story. It’s an independently owned, local business. All of their produce is local (mostly from the farmers markets that you and I shop at on a regular basis,) and organic.

She let me (and the other customers) taste everything. She made suggestions, but wasn’t pushy. I felt satisfied with my selections based solely on  somewhat on flavor, but also on health benefits. What I appreciated most is that they take a wholistic approach to wellness. It’s about body, mind, and spirit. Yeah, I can get behind a place like this…

 

 

Leave a Reply

