Turnt Up!

gyro

Today is National Gyro Day! Opa! I love gyros. I love Greek/Mediterranean food. I could eat it every day. Mr. says he could eat Mexican food every day, but – as much as I love Mexican food – I think that might get a little tiresome. Speaking of Mexican, it just dawned on me (no, really!) that gyros are kind of like a burrito. Wait! Before you hate on me, think about it. You have your warm, meaty filling, and some veggies, and a dairy type sauce, all wrapped up in a kind of dough. Anyhoo, one of the things I often order from George’s Greek Cafe on 2nd Street is a gyro. And the garlic feta fries. Oh. My. Goodness. My mouth is salivating right now, and I just ate lunch. P.S. George’s delivers, and you can order online. You’re welcome.

Gyros are made from placing pieces of meat on a tall, vertical rotisserie in the shape of an inverted cone. The meat rotates, and gets heated up all around, remaining moist, yet crisp. TBH, I like when I get those pieces that are maybe just a teeny bit too cooked. Love those crispy edges! The word “gyro” comes from the Greek work for “turn.” You’re welcome again. Soo, the meat is sliced off the rotisserie in long, vertical strips, placed in a pita with cucumber, red onion, and tomato, then topped with tzatziki sauce. You know it’s a good one when you pick it up and the sauce runs down your hand. Most people call it a “jy-roe,” but a more authentic pronunciation is closer to “yee-roh.” I’m going to go ahead and paraphrase a line from Sixteen Candles here, then wrap (HAHA get it?!) this up. “You don’t spell say it, son You eat it!” Now, go get some…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

