Peer Pressure

burger

My brother and I were having a (rare) phone conversation yesterday, and he said something about it being Cheeseburger Day. I didn’t really think much about it. We finished our convo, and I suddenly felt compelled to see if it really was National Cheeseburger Day, and I Googled it. Turns out it wasn’t yesterday, it’s today! You’re welcome. Sometimes, I like “interesting” burgers (like blackened with blue cheese, or a Western burger, or something else.) Sometimes, I like a “regular” burger. Cheese (always cheese,) lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, mustard. Why is mustard never an option at restaurants?! I don’t mind the “special sauce,” but sometimes, I want mustard! That pic is a “regular” burger: the American Burger at Saint & Second (BTW, they also have a killer Banh Mi burger.)

So, like the good sister I am, I texted my brother to inform him Cheeseburger Day is actually today. And to tell him, “Damn you. Now I want a cheeseburger!” Accompanied by the 🍔, of course. Now, Mr. and I had just gone grocery shopping on Friday. I told him we need to make sure we stock up on some good choices so we can make healthy meals. Chicken and lean proteins, kale and other green veggies, berries, bananas, and fruit. So, imagine how his eyes lit up when he came home from work yesterday, and I informed him I wanted cheeseburgers for dinner! Go ahead and get that cheeseburger today. Trust me, the kale can wait…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

