Transfusion

bloodfusion-1000x1000

Yeah, yeah. We all know, Fall is here. Pumpkin Spice lattes, Triscuits, beer, blah, blah. I won’t get into that again. As much as I’d love to. Know what other produce is soon to be seasonally appropriate? Blood Oranges! I love blood oranges. Blood oranges are way better than pumpkins! (Unless you want to carve one. Then I’d say for sure, go for the pumpkin.) You get that tart, citrus orange taste with a bit of sweetness. I like to think of it as a blend between an orange and a raspberry. You know what else I love? Beer. What a surprise, right? I have quite a penchant for IPAs, but have never been too crazy for Wheat beers. Sure, on a hot Summer day, you might catch me throwing one back. But they are usually just too, well, wheaty for me. So imagine my surprise when I found one I enjoyed! This is Track 7 Brewing Company’s Blood Transfusion Wheat India Pale Ale wth Blood Orange.

Whew! That’s a long name. But you know what they say, “Long name. Long flavor.” OK, I just made that up, but I think it might be true. Track 7 Brewery is a small-batch brewery located near Sacramento. They specialize in brewing and pouring unique artisanal beers. The name comes from the brewery’s proximity to the old Western Pacific railroad tracks, and as a nod to the integral role the railroad has played in Sacramento’s history. Their approach to beer leans strongly toward the hopped West Coast tradition. I had this beer on tap at my favorite BS gastropub. It poured a golden orange (as expected form a wheat beer) color, with a slight head. Medium body and hoppy aroma, with both citrus and pine notes. Slightly bitter, with subtle blood orange, and a definite orange zest finish at the back. So, y’all can go ahead and take your pumpkin flavored whatever. Give me a Blood Transfusion any day…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

