Commemoration

hand-flag

It’s Memorial Day weekend! Unofficial start to summer. Three-day weekend. Beach, boats, BBQ, beer. But there’s more to it than that. Today is the day we recognize all of the service men and women who sacrificed their lives for our country. It is actually not appropriate to thank a veteran for their service today (that is reserved for Veteran’s Day.)  On Memorial Day, the veteran you’re talking to may be feeling a bit of melancholy remembering their brothers and sisters who passed away over the years. It may be more meaningful to them to wish them a peaceful day. With that said, I hope you are having a peaceful day, and a peaceful weekend. I hope you’re enjoying your time with your loved ones. And I hope you pause in memoriam if only for a moment…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Commemoration

  1. Wendy, honey, I love your blog, and I really mean that I love it. This is the first time I’ve read it. I love that it’s about you, but it’s not ALL about you, if you get my meaning. Your life is coming through, but so is so much more… and the pictures are beautiful….You are so good at this. I just didn’t expect it to look so professional and yet it’s so easy to read, and each entry is short and to the point and so interesting. I love the way you write. Of course, I love you… and you just shine through this….

    Like

Leave a Reply

